MCN Webinar Series: COVID-19 Vaccines: What Community Health Workers Need to Know: Part 2

Register here for Part 2 of this webinar.

Community health workers (CHWs) webinars hosted by the Migrant Clinicians Network (MCN).

This two-part webinar series offers an introduction to COVID-19 to support Community Health Workers (CHWs) in their efforts to promote acceptance and uptake of COVID-19 vaccines in the communities they serve. CHWs serve a critical role in the sharing of information about COVID-19 and they regularly experience challenges due to misinformation and disinformation, which are hindering communities from being fully vaccinated.

  • Part 1 will review the core information that CHWs need to know about COVID-19, variants and vaccines available. It also will help CHWs identify trusted sources of information and resources to address misinformation and disinformation.
  • Part 2 will focus on vaccine resources for refugee, immigrant and migrant communities and show ways to create communications campaigns and tailor materials that are responsive to the cultural and linguistic needs of the community serve.

This webinar is offered in English with Spanish interpretation. A Spanish-only version will be facilitated in February.

Click here for more information about this two-part webinar series.

PART 1

Date: Thursday, January 13, 2022 - 10:00 AM (PT) / 12:00 PM (CT) / 1:00 PM (ET)

Register: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_a1lv-PjGRhu80OyQ089C8A

PART 2

Date: Thursday, January 27, 2022 - 11:00 AM (PT) / 1:00 PM (CT) / 2:00 PM (ET)

Register: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_Qi-4dn3YTyuAxJjLNG2f4A

Moderator:

  • Amy Liebman, MPA, MA - Migrant Clinicians Network

Panelists:

  • Nathan S. Bertelsen, MD, MScPH, CTropMed - University of Minnesota
    • Dr. Bertelsen has dedicated his career to working with migrants, refugees and asylum seekers around the world including the Bellevue Program for Survivors of Torture, Doctors Without Borders, the Institute for Global Health in Barcelona, and the International Panel Physicians Association. He has also led medical and public health education efforts in Turkey, Italy, Spain and Central America. Currently at the University of Minnesota, he works with the Tropical Medicine and Global Health and the National Resource Center for Refugees, Immigrants and Migrants in migrant health education.
  • Cloé Destinoble, MPH - Migrant Clinicians Network
    • Cloé Destinoble is MCN’s Program Manager for Migrant and Immigrant Health. She has a master’s degree in Public Health with a concentration in Maternal and Child Health. Ms. Destinoble is a strong advocate for achieving health equity, eliminating disparities, and improving population health. Cloé is passionate about serving the underserved vulnerable populations and advocating for them.
  • Giovanni Lopez-Quezada - Migrant Clinicians Network
    • As MCN’s Communications Designer, Giovanni Lopez-Quezada has created resources and campaigns to promote health literacy and support clinical education. He has worked directly with health care workers and communities to develop and improve the materials they need to stay safe and healthy.

This MCN sponsored training will offer participants an opportunity to receive a Certificate of Attendance. Certificates include the training title, date, presenter(s), and the number of hours of instruction provided. Certificates can only be awarded if participants submit the post webinar evaluation. For any questions, please contact MCN's Manager, Online Education & Evaluation at: malvarado@migrantclinician.org.

Live Webinar Air Date: 
Thursday, January 27, 2022 - 2:00pm
Series: 
Category: